Saltus Grammar School was founded in 1888 thanks to a generous gift from Samuel Saltus who bequeathed the funds for the building of a boys’ school in Bermuda. The school thrived for decades and evolved to include Cavendish Hall in 1972, a second campus devoted to young learners. Many facility enhancements were added over the years, including science labs, libraries, music and art facilities and a 25 metre swimming pool.
In 1966, post desegregation in Bermuda, Saltus widened its mandate for diversity and became one of the first multi-racial private schools in Bermuda. In the 1990s Saltus became fully co-educational. The result has been that students enjoy a diverse, real-world learning environment that elevates all.
Most recently, the Head of Saltus, Deryn Lavell, and the Board of Trustees, have developed a new strategic plan, The Key, designed to take Saltus into a new era of innovation and growth. That includes changing our name from Saltus Grammar School to The Saltus School – a more apt reflection of the times in which we live.
The history of Saltus is as fascinating as the history of Bermuda itself. To learn more, click here for the full story.