Inter House Cross Country

The Annual Inter house cross country meet took place today in great weather conditions, at the Arboretum.  130 plus students represented their houses in four divisions.
The middle girls and boys, and senior girls completed two laps of the Arboretum, and the senior boys completed 3 laps.
In the middle girls, Darrell house placed 5 runners in the top 7 places.  Year 7 Jaeda Grant won the race, followed by Caitlin Coleman (Y9) and then Ella Newton (Y8).  Year 7’s Isis Tucker and Avani Patton were 6th and 7th respectively.  Needless to say Darrell middle girls won that age group.
In the middle boys division, Saltus house took four of the top 5 places.  Year 9 students Bakari Furbert, Brady Sullivan, Jamie Bedford and Year 8 student Charles Reiss, were 1st, 3rd, 4th and 5th respectively.  Nathan DeCosta (Y9 Darrell) spoiled the straight flush with a 2nd place finish.  Saltus won overall points for this division.
Watlington House placed 1st – 4th in the senior girls division.  Y11 Emily Cabral won, followed by Caitlyn Brodie (Y10) and Kara Dallas (SGY1) (tied), then Sydney Fischer (Y10).  Year 11 Jade Johnston (Butterfield) rounded out the top 5.  Watlington won overall points in this division.
Y10 student Simeon Hayward (Watlington) won the senior boys division, followed by Scott Gilbertson (SGY2, Saltus), Noah King (Y11, Watlington), Keiran Malott (SGY2, Butterfield) and Ross Cooper (SGY2, Butterfield).
This proved to be the closest team competition, with Saltus coming out on top overall.
Thank you to the Heads of Houses, and the Senior House Captains for their help today.  And thanks to Bermuda Timing and Keith & Stephen DeSilva for timing the event. 
Thanks to Barritts for supplying the water and powerade.
The interschool cross country championships are next week, with the middle schools on Tuesday February 4th and the Senior Schools on Wednesday February 5th, at the Arboretum.
A list of runners will be sent to you as soon as we have finalized the teams.
Thank you for your continued support of the Athletics Department.